Bedtime Routine for a Thursday Evening

Whose juice this is I think I know
She doesn’t want to drink it, though
And now it’s time to brush our teeth
So I’ll just down it ere I go

My lovely wife must think it queer
To drink this juice, instead of beer
When for two hours I’ve complained
That I need six stiff drinks or so

But bedtime will not wait for booze
And our girl still has books to choose
I’ll read to her again tonight –
A dad must pay his parent dues

The darkness now is thick and deep
But I can’t leave or she will weep
There’s songs to sing before she’ll sleep
More songs to sing before she’ll sleep

Leave a Reply

